composer - guitarist



          Sean McFarland (b. 1991) is a composer from Baltimore, MD, that writes music dealing with the human experience. He has studied under a wide variety of composers including Stuart Saunders Smith, Linda Dusman, Roger Reynolds, and Ian Power. Currently, Sean is

photo by Melissa Nunn

a Master of Music candidate in Music Composition at the Peabody Conservatory, working with Michael Hersch. There, he is attending as a recipient of the Philip D. Glass Endowed Scholarship.

          An avid collaborator, Sean has previously created works with The Atlas

Composer’s Collective and Rhymes With Opera, in addition to writing multiple

pieces for dance. He has also written for some of America’s most distinguished

performers, including Gleb Kanasevich and the JACK Quartet.

          Outside of composing, Sean is an eccentric multidisciplinary guitarist who

performs styles ranging from gospel music to free improvisation, while maintaining

a private studio of students. Thoroughly entrenched in the DIY ethic, Sean works

with Charm City Art Space and other organizations to promote and preserve

independent music in Baltimore. Most recently, he completed “My Name Means the

Shape that I Am” for vocalizing flute quartet.




Copyright © Sean McFarland 2014